BBC Radio 6 Music // Tom Ravenscroft Cover

I was back in for Tom Ravenscroft on 6 Music on Friday night, with an exclusive mix from GOAT.

The show is up here for listen again for the next five days, the full tracklist is below. It includes ‘Hellion Earth’; an epic end of year treat from Blanck Mass (downloadable here until midnight tonight), alongside new MF DOOM, Factory Floor, Ela Orleans, Ukkonen (from a great new No Pain in Pop compilation) Hookworms (from a great new Sonic Cathedral compilation), Christopher Owens, Low and something new(ish) from Wild Beasts.

If you want to cut to the chase and listen to the magnificent GOAT mix without me blethering over the end, I’ve just uploaded it to Soundcloud.

Thanks to producer Alannah for putting up with me chucking songs at her to comply until the very last minute.

ABNF#8 should be out in about a week.

Jon Hillcock (in for Tom Ravenscroft) // BBC Radio 6 Music // 28.12.12

Hour 1 // 7-8pm
LaVern Baker
‘Jim Dandy’ (Atlantic, 1956)
Foxygen ‘We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic’ (Jagjaguwar) from album ‘We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic’
GOAT ‘Goatman’ (Rocket Records) from album ‘World Music’
Majical Cloudz ‘What That Was’ (Arbutus) from ‘Turns Turns Turns’ EP
Wild Beasts ‘Stray’ (Domino)
Xenia Rubinos ‘Hair Receding’ (-) from album ‘Magic Trix’
Girls Names ‘Hypnotic Regression’ (Tough Love)
Ela Orleans ‘Tumult In Clouds’ (ClanDestine) from album ‘Tumult In Clouds’
MF DOOM ‘Doomsayer (Young Guru remix)’ via Soundcloud
Hookworms ‘The Correspondent’ (Sonic Cathedral) from ‘Psyche For Sore Eyes’ compilation EP
The Limiñanas ‘Longanisse’ (Trouble in Mind)

Hour 2 // 8-9pm
Widowspeak ‘The Dark Age’ (Captured Tracks) from album ‘Almanac’
Factory Floor ‘Fall Back’ (DFA)
Jessica Sligter ‘Pricklet’ (Hubro) from album ‘Fear & The Framing’
S. Olbricht ‘Lutson in Luv v2’ (Farbwechsel) from album ‘The Last Act of Dorothy Stratten’
Great Marble ‘What You Need’ (-)
Ukkonen ‘Five to Three’ (No Pain in Pop) from ‘Bedroom Club 2’ compilation EP
Marnie Stern ‘Year of the Glad’ (Kill Rock Stars) from album ‘The Chronicles of Marnia’
Christopher Owens ‘Riviera Rock’ (Turnstile) from album ‘Lysandre’
MountainsLiving Lens’ (Thrill Jockey) from album ‘Centralia’
Landshapes ‘Racehorse (demo)’ (via Soundcloud)
Each Other ‘A Strong Spinning’ (-) from ‘Heavily Spinning’ EP
Naomi Punk ‘The Feeling’ (Captured Tracks) from album ‘The Feeling’

Hour 3 // 9-10pm
  Ofo & The Black Company ‘Allah Wäkbarr’ (Decca, 1972)
  URAN ‘Emp’ (Sulatron, 2009)
  The Roots ‘It’s Been a Long Journey’ (Brownfield, 1965)
  Silver Bullet ‘20 Seconds to Comply’ (Tam Tam, 1989)
  Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band ‘Run Paint Run Run’ (Virgin, 1980)
  Lijadu Sisters ‘Reincarnation’ (Decca/Knitting Factory, 1978)
  UK Apache & Shy FX ‘Original Nuttah’ (Sour, 1994)
  The Pyramids ‘Jamaican Carnival’ (Pyramid, 1975)
Pissed Jeans ‘Health Plan’ (Sub Pop) from album ‘Honeys’
Low ‘Plastic Cup’ (Sub Pop) from album ‘The Invisible Way’
Joe Volk ‘Call to Sun’ (Invada) from split mini album w/Boris
Woollen Kits ‘Be You’ (Trouble In Mind) from album ‘Four Girls’
Blanck Mass ‘Hellion Earth’ (-) free download until Jan ‘13
Mac DeMarco ‘Still Together’ (Captured Tracks) from album ‘2’


Comments are closed.